122-Claressa-A 122 Claressa A

Houses in Avalon - 122 Claressa A - 3 bedrooms - 2.00 baths


This rustic "beach house" with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths is located about a half block from the beach! Side bedroom located off front entry has 4 singles (2 sets of bunks), the 2nd walk through bedroom has a double bed and the 3rd back bedroom has a queen bed. It offers an open style living room and dining area with a 26-inch flat panel TV. The 2nd bathroom is located outside, at the back of the house. This property is the most spacious part of a triplex and is located in the front on the ground level. No smoking, please.

This vacation home rents on a nightly basis (2 night minimum, holidays and selected dates excepted; 3 night minimum mid-June through Labor Day). Rates vary by week and are subject to change. Rates do not include one-time cleaning and linen fee, 12% City of Avalon occupancy tax, and processing fees.

  Nightly Weekly
* September 5, 2016 through October 23, 2016, Friday and Saturday nights,rates will be calculated at the 'Summer/In-Season' rates.
Rates subject to change at any time. Monthly rates available upon request. Please email or call our office for more information.
  • Avalon Homes
    Max Occu - 8
    Bedroom 1 - Queen
    Bedroom 2 - Bunk beds
    Extra Bedding - Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 3 - Double
  • Internet Access - Wireless
    Golf Cart - No Golf cart
    TV's in Property - 2
    Deck/Balcony/Patio - NA
    Smoking - Not Allowed
    Tennis - NA
  • No View - No View
Title is required
Name is required
Email is required
Check In Date is required
Review is required

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Your review will appear shortly.

8 8

Overall Rating:

2.625 2.625
I wasn't impressed
1 3 5
Review Date: 06/22/2015
The house is a great location and I would of stayed again, but they need to make some upgrades. The back bedroom is very small, but it works. The bathroom in the house needs some upgrades. A shower would be nice. The second bedroom, the bed needs replaced. The bedroom were the bunk beds are is not even a regular room. We did not feel safe leaving the kids in there due to the back door is not really locked very well. The mattresses are very uncomfortable. The living room is nice and big. I liked that. The kitchen refrigerator didnt work properly and our food went bad, but I heard it was replaced. If they made some upgrades and tried to fix it be slanted, yes I would stay again.
Decent Location But....
1 3 5
Review Date: 07/25/2014
Kevin W
House is lopsided (leans), bedrooms are small. Kitchen is sufficient, living room is comfortable. You have to walk outside for the second bathroom. My advice, this is an okay place rent for the location but that is it.
Rustic Indeed!
1 3 5
Review Date: 07/23/2014
Chris W
Overall, poor value for money. Not one of the three bedrooms actually qualifies as a bedroom. The bunkbed room is a glorified broom closet and the other two bedrooms Don't really allow you to walk around the beds due to the size of the rooms. We are small humans and I can't image how a large Person would cope. One of the bathrooms is outside the house and it took us a full morning and then help from the rental agent to find it. The house is the closest to the beach on Clarissa which was great for us to let our children find their own way to the beach. The furniture in the lounge is a bit scary and an odd yellow powder was seen coming out of a couch cushion on a sofa we nicknamed the velvet underground. We were scared to use the oven but the Weber BBQ which we used in the very narrow space between the house and the neighboring Hamilton Cove real estate office is narrow enough to potentially burn down both dwellings. The house is advertised as 'rustic' but there is really no need for the inverted commas because this house is seriously rustic!
This Place Should Be condemned!
1 1 5
Review Date: 09/06/2013
Lauren W
We visited Catalina for the first time this past weekend (over Labor Day). We had 7 adults in our group so we decided to rent a house instead of staying in a hotel or condo. 122 Claressa a was a disgusting rat hole and should not be inhabited by anyone ever again! There was black mold on the bathroom walls, in the bath tub, and in what they cosidered to be a "bedroom". This place was suppose to sleep 8. There were two microscopic bedrooms with very small beds (suppose to sleep two people in each room) as well as a hallway with 4 bunk beds which is where the other 4 people were suppose to sleep. The 'hallway' bedroom was so hot and stuffy that we had to take the matresses off the beds and sleep in the living room! There was no air conditioning in the entire unit. The dishes and utensils were dirty. The one bathroom that was located in the building did not have a shower! There was only a bathtub, toilet and sink (all of which were repulsive to use). The shower was found on the side of the house in this tiny stall where the toilet sat right beneath the sink (making it impossible for an adult to use). In addition, if you decided to use the shower outside the unit, it faced the other unit (122 Claressa B) so many times, you would exit the shower and be facing a total stranger in your towel...very uncomfortable! There was food left over in the refrigerator from the people who used the unit before us, which was horrific. We found a used q-tip under one of the beds. The place looked like it had never been cleaned between occupants. The list goes on!Basically, we did everything we could to stay away from our vacation rental...this place is a tear down! Do not waste your money on this crappy unit!
Manager Response: 09/05/2013
Dear Guest,
Our company manages a variety of homes. You chose our least expensive property, which is quite popular to families on a budget, with rates of less than $40/person/night In Season. A very low budget for Catalina Island.
The property does not have black mold. We checked.
Our housekeeping service for this home would have returned, if requested and re-washed your kitchen items.
Our website describes the bedroom situation quite accurately. The 2nd bathroom is also noted on our website. We apologize for the q-tip being missed by housekeeping.
CIVR Management
the worst rental ever
1 1 5
Review Date: 09/04/2013
A FlipKey verified reviewer
I was shocked to see such positive reviews on this house. I am skeptical that they are actually true. We stayed here with 7 people, because the information said it could sleep 8. It was filthy, rundown and unbearably hot. The front "bedroom" (which has 4 bunk beds)is more like a modified hallway. Very narrow, and impossible for 4 people to sleep in. The main bathroom, has an old, decrepit bathtub that you could not pay anyone to sit in. The other bathroom is actually outside, but the size of a tiny closet. When you exit the bathroom, you face the opposite unit, which is very awkward, when people are sitting there. The kitchen was so filthy I as afraid to use any of the utensils, so much for not eating out for every meal. I love to camp and travel, but this place was not something I would ever recommend or ever stay in again. Catalina is a beautiful place, too bad the owners of this unit couldn't put a dime into the pace to make it even remotely inhabitable!
catalina paradise !!!
1 5 5
Review Date: 09/03/2013
Sanchez family
My family had the most wonderful 7 day vacation of our lifes. Super easy check in and checkout. 122 clarissa had the old rustic charm and a stones throw away from the ocean.We will definately be back. Thje only problem was trip was too short this time will be back for 10 days!! Thanks Civr for making this the Sanchez family vacation spot for years to come.
Would Not Stay Here again
1 1 5
Review Date: 03/28/2013
A FlipKey verified reviewer
I stayed at this place with 5 other scuba divers. All men. The 2 bathrooms is a misnomer. One is outside the house. There are really two very small bedrooms, with very little room or storage. One addon adds bunk beds, which weere probably purchased from a junk store. There were no forks or knives or spoons to use if we wanted to make any food. One roll of toilet paper for six men did not cut it. The housekeeping is obvioulsy inadequate and no quality control is used to assure that the house has what it needs. The location is convenient to avalon and just around the corner from the rental office.
Manager Response: 03/27/2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We had noticed the lack of flatware and re-supplied the kitchen with knives and spoons, apparently after your stay. Sorry about that. Had you called, we would have brought some right over. Regarding the size of the house and make up of bedding, we do try to be up front with regards to this cottage, and all of our vacation homes. Our website property details are fairly descriptive. CIVR offers a large number of larger, newer homes for rental. 122 Claressa A happens to be smaller and older, but remains very popular with families on a budget.
Girl Scouts had a wonderful time
1 4 5
Review Date: 03/05/2013
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Thank you for the lovely stay in your home. The Girl Scouts had a lot of fun and enjoyed their time together. We were very please when the maintenance staff addressed our call right away and came out to put in a new light bulb when one went out in the bathroom. Thank you!
Name is required
Email is required
Home Phone is required

Thank you for your inquiry. A reservation specialist will be in touch with you shortly.

Share This Property: